Edgar Awards: The Best In Mystery Fiction and Nonfiction

David Kelly, Senior Librarian, Literature & Fiction Department,
collage with the 9 winning titles and the mystery writers of america logo

At a ceremony in New York last week the Mystery Writers of America announced the winners of the 2018 Edgar Awards. The Awards are given out annually to honor the best in mystery fiction, and nonfiction published in the previous year.

Click on any title on the list to place a hold on an item free of charge. You will need to know your library card number and the last four digits of the phone number associated with your card. After placing the hold select the library location to which you want the item sent and we will notify you when it is available for pick up.

Best Novel

Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke

Best First Novel by and American Author

She Rides Shotgun, by Jordan Harper

Best Paperback Original

The Unseeing, by Anna Mazzola

Best Fact Crime

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI, by David Grann

Best Critical / Biographical

Chester B. Himes: A Biography, by Lawrence P. Jackson

Best Short Story

“Spring Break,” by John Crowley, from New Haven Noir

Best Juvenile

Vanished! by James Ponti

Best Young Adult

Long Way Down, by Jason Reynolds

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

Awarded for the best published mystery short story by a previously unpublished American author.

“The Queen of Secrets,” by Lisa D. Gray, from New Haven Noir

Mary Higgins Clark Award

The winner of the Mary Higgins Clark Award is selected by a Special MWA Committee for the book most closely written in the Mary Higgins Clark Tradition according to guidelines set forth by Mary Higgins Clark.

The Widow’s House, by Carol Goodman