Collage of year's top books chosen by The American Library Association
Tina Lernø, January 28, 2022

The American Library Association (or ALA as acronym-loving librarians refer to it) has announced this year's top books, video, and audiobooks for children and young adults—including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpré, Newbery, and Printz awards.

Abdulrazak Gurnah illustration by Niklas Elmehed
Madeline Peña, October 07, 2021

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2021 has been awarded to educator and author Abdulrazak Gurnah “for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents”.

National Book Awards
Tina Lernø, November 18, 2020

The National Book Foundation has announced the 71st Annual National Book Awards and shortlists for 2020.

2019 Youth Media Award Winners
Tina Lernø, January 31, 2019

Is there a collective name for a group of librarians? How about a Catalog of Librarians! Well, that was surely the case on a brisk Monday morning in Seattle Washington, where the librarian equivalent of the Oscar awards was held.

Pictured from left, are Vivian Vance, co-star, holding her Emmy for Best Supporting Actress, Desi Arnaz and Lucille Ball holding the Best Situation Comedy Emmy
Tina Lernø, September 15, 2018

Who will win, who will "be happy just to be nominated," and who will go home empty-handed? Watch the festivities tonight to find out, but before you do, check out these amazing images from our photo collection of past Emmy award celebrations.

Anisfield-Wolf Book Award winners for 2018
Janice Batzdorff, May 23, 2018

Sing, Unburied, Sing, Jesmyn Ward’s novel set in the fictional town of Bois Sauvage in rural Mississippi, was presented with the 2018 Anisfield-Wolf Award for Fiction in March.

Author Lisa Ko and her award winning book the Leavers
Janice Batzdorff, May 17, 2018

Lisa Ko’s The Leavers, was selected as the Adult Fiction winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature for 2017-2018.

collage with the 9 winning titles and the mystery writers of america logo
David Kelly, May 02, 2018

At a ceremony in New York last week the Mystery Writers of America announced the winners of the 2018 Edgar Awards.

Albertine Prize banner
James Sherman, April 25, 2018

If you are a fan of contemporary French fiction, we hope you can take part in selecting the Albertine Prize, a reader's choice award for best contemporary French fiction in translation.

7 of the award winning books
Janice Batzdorff, April 12, 2018

The International Association of Culinary Professionals Cookbook Awards honor authors, publishers, and other contributors behind the best cookbooks published each year. Awards were presented in a variety of categories at an annual conference on February 26, 2018.